BTCC Rockingham preview

The British Touring Car Championship roars into Rockingham this weekend. As the 2014 season enters its final third, Colin Turkington still leads the championship standings, but his advantage is far from clear.

Last time at Knockhill, Matt Neal, Mat Jackson and Rob Collard shared the wins. Turkington was dumped out of the first race, but fought back to take fourth in Race 2 and third in Race 3.

His nearest championship rivals, Gordon Shedden and Jason Plato, similarly only managed one podium each, with their other results not making much difference.

Realistically, Turkington, Shedden and Plato are the only drivers still in contention for the crown. Though with up to 201 points still on offer, everyone down to Adam Morgan in tenth has a mathematical chance.

The front-wheel-drive Hondas have had the strongest performance at Rockingham in recent years, though Rob Austin famously took his first BTCC victory last year in the rear-drive Audi.

The factory Honda Yuasa Racing team is expecting a good showing, after doing much of their pre-season testing in the new Civic Tourer at the Rock.

Andrew Jordan took two wins in his Pirtek Racing Civic last year, but does he still have the motivation after counting himself out of the championship? Plato has form at the circuit in the KX Clubcard MG6, taking a win in 2012.

Turkington took two podiums in the then-new eBay BMW last year. Previous history shows the RWD cars are at a slight disadvantage, but if nothing else, Turks has proved this year that the BMW is fast everywhere.

But then again, Knockhill showed you can take nothing for granted in the BTCC. Literally anything could happen…

The BTCC Rockingham races takes place on Sunday 7 September.

Visit the BTCC webste here

Drivers’ Championsip top 15 after 21 races

  1. Colin Turkington — eBay Motors BMW — 309 points
  2. Gordon Shedden — Honda Yuasa Racing — 286
  3. Jason Plato — MG KX Clubcard Fuel Save — 270
  4. Rob Collard — eBay Motors BMW — 220
  5. Andrew Jordan — Pirtek Racing Honda — 217
  6. Mat Jackson — Airwaves Racing Ford — 207
  7. Matt Neal — Honda Yuasa Racing — 190
  8. Sam Tordoff — MG KX Clubcard Fuel Save — 143
  9. Aron Smith — Chrome Edition Restart Racing Volkswagen — 133
  10. Adam Morgan — WIX Racing Mercedes — 126
  11. Rob Austin — Exocet Racing Audi — 103
  12. Alain Menu — Chrome Edition Restart Racing Volkswagen — 96
  13. Fabrizio Giovanardi — Airwaves Racing Ford — 91
  14. Jack Goff — Chrome Edition Restart Racing Volkswagen — 88
  15. Tom Ingram — Speedworks Motorsport Toyota — 87



What do you think?

Leave a Reply


Be alert as kids go back to school

Divine DS

Citroen Divine DS points to brand’s future